March Colour Combo Swap

Hi there,

This card was made for a colour combo swap.  We had to use purple, olive and black.  When I entered this swap, I thought it would be easy, but as time passed, I struggled to come up with something that looked ok.  I happened to buy a new stamp set, Botanical Butterflies from JustRite, not for this card but because it was pretty.  Once I got it home,  inspiration struck, and I knew what I would do.  Here is the finished card.

003

Ink:  Memento Black, Milled Lavender Distress Ink
Cardstock:  White, Black, Purple, Olive
Stamps: JustRite Botanical Butterflies
Dies: Spellbinders Standard Circles Large, Standard Circles Small, Lacey Circles, Stately Circles, Decorative Labels 22
Embossing Folder: Spellbinders Dotted Flowers
Spectrum Noir: PL2, PL4, PL5, DG1, DG2, DG3, CT4
Other: Double sided tape, Foam tape

JustRite Botanical Butterflies

I stamped the image from Botanical Butterflies on white cardstock, and coloured with Spectrum Noir pens.  Once cut and embossed (Standard Circles Small), I left the die on as a mask, and coloured around the edge.  This was layered onto:

  • black Standard Circles Large;
  • olive Lacey Circles;
  • purple Stately Circles;
  • black Decorative Labels 22

Spellbinders Dotted Flowers

Using the Dotted Flowers embossing folder and Milled Lavender ink, I used the Letterpress technique to add some colour to the white cardstock.  This was my first attempt at Letterpress…for future reference, I think I need to use darker ink.

Despite my trepidation about this colour combination, I was happy with how the card turned out, and my swap partner loved it 🙂

I am entering this in the Spectrum Noir April Challenge “Anything Goes“.

Bye for now,

Penny

All comments are most welcome and appreciated.

