Masked birthday

Hi there,

Here is a birthday card I made recently.

Darkroom Door TreesInk:  VersaFine Onyx Black, Tim Holtz Mowed Lawn and Salty Ocean Distress Inks
Cardstock:  White, Black, Blue
Stamps: Darkroom Door Trees and Simple Sayings
Other: Double sided tape, scrap paper

I stamped the image on a piece of white cardstock.  I then positioned scrap paper on the top and bottom of the cardstock as a mask, and sponged in the centre of the cardstock.  This was my first attempt at masking, without using dies as a mask.  The technique calls for post-it notes.  I didn’t have any handy, so I used scrap paper instead.  You can’t really see it, but I have sponged green on the tree branches.  The blue sort of drowns it out.  Once I had finished sponging, I stamped the sentiment on the bottom of the cardstock.

Darkroom Door TreesI layered onto a piece of black cardstock, and then onto the blue cardbase, using double-sided tape.

My card was inspired by this card by Heather Telford

Bye for now,

Penny

All comments are most welcome and appreciated.

