Christmas Card Class

Hi all,

Today was class at CraftyAs, the theme was Christmas in July (you can never start your Christmas cards too early 🙂 ).  Here is the first card I taught.

Darkroom Door Christmas

Inks:  Vintage Photo, Fired Brick and Barn Door Distress Inks, Distress Embossing Ink
Cardstock:  White, Green
Stamps: Darkroom Door Yuletide Vol 2, Dear Santa Vol 1 and Star
Other: White Embossing Powder, Heat gun, Chalks, Distress Markers, Blending Tool, Double sided tape, Foam tape.

Card1 2

I cut and scored a white A5 card base (10.5 cm X 15 cm).  I then cut two pieces of green cardstock, the first 10 cm X 14.5 cm, and the second 9.5 cm X 14 cm.  Using the Star background stamp, I stamped the smaller piece with Distress Embossing Ink, covered the stamped image with white embossing powder, and heat embossed.  Once the embossing had set, I layered it on the larger piece of green cardstock, and then layered both onto the cardbase, using double-sided tape.

Darkroom Door Yuletide Vol 2

I stamped the Santa image from Yuletide Vol 2 in Vintage Photo Distress Ink.  I added a little colour with chalks, colouring Santa’s face with a light pink, and the holly leaves in a light green.  So that the berries would stand out, I coloured with Barn Door Distress Marker, using the pen tip.  Once finished, I layered the image onto green cardstock, which had been cut 0.5 cm bigger than the image.

Darkroom Door Dear Santa Vol 1

Using the sentiment from Dear Santa Vol 1, I stamped the sentiment on white cardstock with Distress Embossing Ink, covered the stamped image with white embossing powder, and heat embossed.   Once the embossing had set, I blended Fired Brick and Barn Door Distress Inks over the embossing, using the blender tool (emboss resist).  Using paper towel, I rubbed over the embossed sentiment to wipe away any “stray” ink.  I adhered it onto the card using foam tape.

This card was cased from http://rachelgreig.typepad.com/darkroomdoor/2010/10/transparency-yuletide-card-set.html

I am entering this card in Christmas Stamping All Year Long Challenge #25 Techniques

Bye for now,

Penny

3 responses to “Christmas Card Class

  1. Very pretty! I love the vintage feel to it and the nice clean lines. Thanks for playing with CSAYL.

  2. Love your card Penny, will have to get to one of your classes soon.

  3. Great card hunni.

    Love the image

    Thanks for joining us at CSAYL

    Good luck

    Tracey DTxx

All comments are most welcome and appreciated.

