Poppy Birthday

Time for another birthday card, this time it’s for my aunt.  I received a box of happy mail yesterday, as well as doing a little shopping, so have used some of my new supplies for this card.  The only “ingredients” used in this card that aren’t new are the cardstock 🙂

 Aunty Anne Birthday

Inks: Black StazOn, Sea Breeze VersaMagic
Cardstock:  White, SU Real Red
Stamps: JustRite Poppies Labels Twenty Nine
Spellbinders: A2 Filigree Delights
Embossing Folder: M-bossabilities Dotted Flowers (Side B)
Other: Chalks, Barn Door and Peeled Paint Distress Markers, Dimensionals, Double sided tape

Aunty Anne Birthday

I cut an A5 cardbase, and embossed the front with Side B of the Dotted Flowers M-bossabilities embossing folder.  For some reason, when I took the photo of the embossed cardbase, there was a pinkish tinge in the middle of the card.  I tried several times but could not get rid of it, so I cheated, and changed the photo to black  and white to get rid of it 🙂

Aunty Anne Birthday

I cut and embossed with the A2 Filigree Delights, using both the filigree die and the oval insert.  After I had stamped the Poppies image on the oval, I initially coloured with chalks, and wasn’t happy with the effect.  Times like this I wish I had Copics or Spectrum Noir…look out when I go to the craft show in Sydney in June 🙂

I got my distress markers out, and used Barn Door to colour the flowers, and Peeled Paint to colour the stems and leaves.  I did not colour them completely, leaving some parts with just chalk colouring.   Once I had finished colouring, I placed the cardstock back in the oval die, and sponged with Sea Breeze VersaMagic.

Aunty Anne Birthday

I layered the filigree mat on a piece of Real Read cardstock with dimensionals, and adhered the image with double sided tape to the Real Red mat.  I then adhered this to the cardbase with double sided tape.

I’m entering this in 4 Crafty Chicks Challenge #132 Die for Dies

Happy birthday Aunty Anne, I hope you have a wonderful day.

Bye for now,

Penny

6 responses to “Poppy Birthday

  1. This is a beautiful card Penny & so pretty. I love the new Spellbinders Dies 🙂

  2. Love how you’ve used so many dies, and your colouring is great Penny. Very pretty.

  3. Truly lovely Penny, your projects have such polish to them. Beautiful.

    Cheers,
    Kasey

  4. Thanks for playing our Dies challenge at 4 Crafty Chicks!

  5. Way to highlight those gorgeous flowers with the color combo and the dies you used. Fabulous inspiration 🙂 Thank you so much for sharing it with us at 4 Crafty Chicks.

All comments are most welcome and appreciated.

