Happy birthday

Time for another birthday card.  I struggle when it comes to doing masculine birthday cards, mainly because I don’t have a lot of masculine stamps.  Here is what I came up with.

Jack Birthday

Inks: Scattered Straw, Mowed Lawn, Salty Ocean and Black Soot Distress Inks, Onyx  Black Versafine, Black StazOn
Cardstock:  White, Dark Blue, Black
Stamps: Darkroom Door Wilderness Volume 2 and Full Bloom Collection
Other: Double sided tape

Jack Birthday

I stamped the image from the Wilderness set with Black StazOn, and then sponged with the distress inks.  I usually sponge the edges with a darker colour, but for something different, I dragged each edge along the Black StazOn inkpad to frame the image, this doesn’t show up in the photos very well.  I matted the image on black then blue card stock, then mounted it on the card base.

Jack Birthday

As my friend Linda will vouch for, I don’t normally distress the edges, but this just called out for some distressing.

Jack Birthday

I stamped the sentiment from the Full Bloom Collection with Onyx  Black Versafine and sponged with Mowed Lawn and Salty Ocean Distress Inks, and edged with Black Soot Distress Ink.  I then matted the sentiment onto black then blue cardstock, distressed the edges of the blue mat, and mounted it on the card.

Jack Birthday

When I was scoring the card base, I must not have been paying attention, as I scored it 1 inch away from the centre.  I decided not to waste it, and scored 1 inch in from each edge to make a frame, and sponged the scored lines lightly with Salty Ocean Distress Ink to emphasize the frame.  It wasn’t my original plan for the card, but it made it a bit different.

Bye for now,

Penny

2 responses to “Happy birthday

  1. Penny, that’s great, love the colours.

All comments are most welcome and appreciated.

