Happy Birthday Janet

I’m really enjoying using my Darkroom Door stamps at the moment, I guess I’m making up for the fact that I’d had them for so long before I cut them out and mounted them onto foam.  This time, it’s my sister-in-law’s birthday.

2012 Birthday Janet 01

Inks: Black StazOn Ink, Shabby Shutters Distress Ink
Cardstock:  White and Black
Stamps: Darkroom Door Full Blossom Collection
Other: Double sided tape, dimensionals, Distress Markers, Sponging block, Aqua pen, Nestabilities Fancy Tags 2, Corner Punch

2012 Birthday Janet 02

For this card, after I stamped the image, I sponged the card with Shabby Shutters Distress Ink, again using a sponging block.  This time, though, I sponged around the petals, so that I could colour them in.

2012 Birthday Janet 08I then coloured the flower and stem with Distress Markers – the centre with Mustard Seed, the stem with  Shabby Shutters and the petals with Worn Lipstick and Barn Door.  I then used an aqua pen on the petals, to blend the colours together.  As there were patches of sponging on the background that were darker than others, I used the aqua pen on the background to even out the colour a bit more.

2012 Birthday Janet 16I cut a black tag using the Fancy Tags 2 die, stamped the sentiment onto white cardstock, and used the same die to trace around the sentiment to cut it out.  I used a corner punch to round off the corners of the sentiment, as well as all the other corners.

I am entering this card in the following challenges:
PaperPlay Challenges ’12 – Week 27 Happy Birthday
Make It Monday #96 – Always Anything Goes

Happy Birthday Janet, I hope you had a great day.

Bye for now,

Penny

6 responses to “Happy Birthday Janet

  1. Absolutely in love with your project! Thanks for sharing!
    I saw this on Make it Monday!
    These are my entries: # 129, #158, #160, #162, # 250, #252 (Candy Alert) and #262 and would love it if you could visit.
    Hugs,
    Julia

  2. Love your flower card saw it on MIM. Great inking and colouring makes u want to c it in real life! X

  3. Lovely card hunnie…Thanks for joining us at Make it Monday this week…
    Hugs,
    Marjorie
    xx

All comments are most welcome and appreciated.

