Vintage Challenge

I thought I would enter a card for the new challenge site Crafty Friends Challenges.  Their first challenge is “Vintage”.  I don’t “do” vintage, so this IS a challenge.  Before anyone gets upset, I love vintage cards that I have seen created, but when it comes to doing one myself, I don’t know where to start.  So I decided to bite the bullet and have a go 🙂

CFC1 Vintage ChallengeInks: Wild Honey Distress Ink
Cardstock:  White
Other: Nestabilities Fleur De Lis Rectangles, Dimensionals, Megumi Romak Pink Flowers, Clear Nail Polish, White Opal Liquid Pearls, Pink patterned paper

I covered the front of a white card blank with the pink patterned paper, then used the large Fleur De Lis Rectangle die to cut the card out, making sure to place the die slightly above the fold.  I had to put this through my Bigshot numerous times, as the added thickness of the paper on the card meant that the die was not cutting through to the back of the card as it should.  Once I had removed the card from the die, a lot of the card that should have been cut on the back was only marked, so I had to use my craft knife to cut out all the areas that needed to be cut.

I used the second sized Fleur De Lis die on white cardstock, and whilst it was still in the die, I sponged lightly with Wild Honey Distress Ink, to soften the starkness of the plain white.  Hopefully this also gives it a vintage look.

CFC1 Vintage ChallengeI love this paper tole set, maybe because it was the first one I ever attempted.  Here is my first attempt with paper tole.  Back then, I didn’t have a bigshot and nestabilities.

CFC1 Vintage Challenge

I’m finding that I much prefer the finish that clear nail polish gives over the gloss that I usually use.

CFC1 Vintage ChallengeAdd some liquid pearls to the card et voila! 🙂

I’ve also entered this in Make It Monday #83, and Crafty Purple Frog Challenge # 37.

Bye for now,

Penny

8 responses to “Vintage Challenge

  1. Penny, our challenge is just about having fun and stamping with friends. I have a hard time with vintage as well. I think your card looks wonderful and perfect for the challenge. Love your flower, sponging and the shapes you chose.
    Thanks so much for playing along!
    Have a wonderful week. Hugs and smiles

  2. Hello Penny – what fun to see you here for our first challenge! Love your card – it is such a great feeling to see you doing sponging and trying vintage – you have ROCKED it my friend! Thank you for joining us for our first challenge – we love to see you! {{{hugs}}}

  3. Beautiful vintage card, so elegant…gorgeous.

    Thanks for sharing with us at ‘Make it Monday’

    Luv CHRISSYxx

    Don’t forget. .if you leave a comment on another entrant, mention that you saw their card on ‘Make it Monday’ for a chance at second prize.. the more you comment on and mention MIM, the more chances at winning second prize.

  4. pintsizeholly

    What a gorgeous card you have made. It’s perfect for our challenge. Thank you for taking part in the Crafty Purple Frog Challenge this fortnight and I wish you the best of luck in the draw. Best wishes, Kym (The Crafty Purple Frog Design Team Member) xxx

  5. Beautiful card, love the Fleur de Lis edging. Thanks for joining us at Crafty Purple Frog this time. Carol DT x

  6. For not “doing” vintage, your card is just gorgeous! I LOVE it!

All comments are most welcome and appreciated.

