Challenge time

As I’m on holidays, and have time on my hands, I thought it was time to enter some challenges.  This card has been made for two challenges, FM #50 I want Candy, and PLG #23 Kiss Me I’m Irish.

As my heritage is predominantly Irish (even my Gordon ancestors came from Ireland, not Scotland as most people assume), of course I would have to enter an “Irish” challenge.

Challenges 003

Inks: SU Glorious Green
Cardstock:  White, Dark Green, SU Gable Green
Other: Nestabilities Renaissance Hearts Pendants and Petite Scalloped Circles Large, Dimensionals, SU Perfect Polka Dots Embossing Folder, SU Eyelet Border Punch, patterned paper (doesn’t have any details on it), dark green ribbon

As I am at my mother’s place while I am on holidays, I don’t have access to all of my crafting supplies, but managed to bring quite a few things with me 🙂  This might have worked a bit better if I had been able to use the same SU cardstock as the ink used.  I had a look at the Faux Mother of Pearl technique, but didn’t have the necessary “ingredients”, and am very limited in what I can purchase here in Goulburn (only one craft store).

This is the first time in quite a while that I haven’t stamped anything on a card.  The centre of the pendant die looked a little like a four leaf clover (well to me it did, anyway, I hope it does to others), so I sponged the centre to emphasize this.  I didn’t have any markers here to draw in the clover outlines.

Challenge close up

Bye for now,

Penny

UPDATE:  Just found out that I got an honourable mention in the PLG Challenge 🙂  Thank you to PLG for that.  As someone who is still finding my feet in card-making, it’s really nice to get this 🙂

10 responses to “Challenge time

  1. Great Irish card! my Irish eyes recognized that 4 leaf clover right away! Thanks for joining us at the Friday Mashup!

    • Hi Kim,
      Thanks for that. I was a little concerned, as I showed it to my mother, who didn’t “see it”. Then again. most of my Irish ancestory comes through Dad’s side, anyway 🙂
      Thanks for commenting 🙂
      Penny

  2. Wowza, that is one stunning nestie pendant!!! Absolutely gorgeous! Thanks for joining us at Paper Lovin’ Gals.

    Linda

  3. Hello there Penny, I see you’re back posting again. Enjoy your holidays and your visit with your Mum.

    Your card is fabulous! I can see that four leaf clover, if I squint just enough! LOL. Great job my friend.

    Don’t forget to enter the candy for Friday Mashup by commenting on all the DT blogs.

    Kasey ~ in Oz
    Paper Lovin’ Gals DT AND Friday Mashup DT
    (PS. Trust you to go and enter both challenges with the one card!)

  4. Penny this came out great. I love what you did with that focal piece. Thanks for joining us at the Paper Lovin’ Gals and the Friday Mashup this week.

  5. That’s a really unique die-cut and a great take on the sketch! Thanks for joining the Friday Mashup this week.

  6. What a glorious design!! Thanks so much for playing with us at Paper Lovin’ Gals!!
    Michele F.
    PLG DT

  7. Great job with the sketch, thanks for playing along with us at The Friday Mashup!

  8. Penny,

    Please visit my blog to pick up an award I would like you to have.

    Cheers,
    Kasey ~ in Oz

  9. Love all that green! Thanks for joining The Friday Mashup this week.

All comments are most welcome and appreciated.

